Updates : 2021-10-06
How to Get ThereChoose a transportation method based on your departure location.
Jiufen Visitor Center
There is a large map with trilingual introductions at the back of the reception counter, marking some main tourist attractions and their relevant locations within the Shuei-Jin-Jiou (Shueinandong, Jinguashih, Jiufen) regions.A few to-scale handcar models from the past are displayed indoors, and various types of ores and mining tools from the Shuei-Jin-Jiou regions in the past are exhibited on each handcar, making it a mini museum. Posters on the walls applied trilingual explanations to briefly introduce the developmental history of Jiufen region in phases. Souvenir stamp collection service is also available on the table. The pamphlets displayed here are printed in multiple languages, providing thorough yet easy to understand introductions according to the different tourist attractions and regions, which often include exquisitely printed brief maps, making it one of the most accessed printed data to visitors.
The reason for the name Wanggu, according to literature and legend, is that during the Xianfeng period (1831-1861) Hu Jie from Quanzhou started an open coal mine. After the pit had been exhausted it filled with water, and the Chinese name “Wangkuangkeng” (old mine pit) changed into “Wanggukeng” (ancient pit).In the early days, few people settled in this barren land, which later became cultivated as Pingxi District. Both Wanggu Station and Dahua Station, formerly known as Qinghe Station, were set up in 1972 to serve the coal miners, but they were train-hailing stations before that.