Go to the main content section Anchor point

New Taipei City Travel

Tamsui Longshan Temple

Tamsui Longshan Temple

Anchor point
Updates : 2022-12-21
3852

Travel tips

  • One of the five remaining Longshan temples in Taiwan
  • Tamsui’s four hidden temples, hidden in the market
  • Built in the style of Quanzhou temples with exquisite carvings
  • Featuring a plaque gifted by the Guangxu Emperor to thank the gods

Introduction

Located in an alley of Tamsui Old Street and hidden in the Tamsui market, Tamsui Longshan Temple is one of Taiwan’s five major Longshan temples. It was built in 1858 in dedication to Bodhisattva Guanyin. The rectangular temple initially possessed a wide courtyard in the front and a garden in the back, and was not only one of Tamsui’s religious centers, but also served as a local governance and defense center. Together with Qingshui Temple, Yinshan Temple and Fuyou Temple, they are known as the “Four great temples of Tamsui.”
Tamsui Longshan Temple

A religious center for immigrants from Sanyi, Quanzhou
Longshan Temple is the religious center for the people of Sanyi, Quanzhou. Since the Qing Dynasty, the Sanyi people formed the majority of the Han Chinese who crossed the sea to settle in Taiwan and start up their businesses, and brought with them the religion and architecture of their hometown, greatly influencing Taiwanese culture. The Tamsui Longshan Temple was inspired by the Quanzhou Longshan Temple, and became an important center in Tamsui for the Sanyi people to meet. The temple’s main hall is dedicated to Bodhisattva Guanyin and features delicate and exquisite carvings. The temple’s front is made of stone from Mount Guanyin, and during renovations, efforts were made to restore the style of the era in which it was originally built. This care and dedication made the traditional temple all the more precious.
Tamsui Longshan Temple

Ci Hang Pu Du (kind-hearted and compassionate)
Tamsui Longshan Temple has preserved many stone monuments, plaques, pillars and other artifacts, and the famous Ci Hang Pu Du plaque hanging in the temple is a must see. In 1884, during the Sino-French War, Tamsui briefly became the battleground for an engagement between the two armies, and it is said that the Bodhisattva Guanyin appeared of Tamsui Longshan Temple appeared and protected the residents of Tamsui from the dangers of the war. In 1886, Liu Ming-chuan, the then governor of Taiwan, requested the Guangxu Emperor to grant a plaque reading “Ci Hang Pu Du” (慈航普度), meaning kind-hearted and compassionate, to thank the Bodhisattva Guanyin for her protection of Tamsui.
Tamsui Longshan Temple

 
diary-photo
Pictures and text in this section come from Facebook and Instagram. The copyright of them belong to the post creators.
Back to the top of page
小客帶路