Built in this gold mining region, the Gold Temple was conceived in hopes to ensure a smooth development of the mining business. The temple enshrines three Japanese protectors of mining: Okuninushi no Mikoto, Kanayamahiko no Mikoto and Sarutahiko no Mikoto. Construction began in 1905, and was managed by the Chairman of Tanaka Mining Company, which operated the mines in Benshan at the time. The original site of the temple was on the plains east of Benshan in Jinguashi. Later, as the mining business bloomed, communities around Jinguashi became prosperous, and the temple was relocated to the mountain hills by "Siping Alley", on top of what is known as the "Divine Pulse" of Benshan. After the Japanese left Taiwan, the mining regions were taken over by the Taiwan Sugar Corporation and Taiwan Power Company.