Updates : 2022-12-05
How to Get ThereChoose a transportation method based on your departure location.
The reason for the name Wanggu, according to literature and legend, is that during the Xianfeng period (1831-1861) Hu Jie from Quanzhou started an open coal mine. After the pit had been exhausted it filled with water, and the Chinese name “Wangkuangkeng” (old mine pit) changed into “Wanggukeng” (ancient pit).In the early days, few people settled in this barren land, which later became cultivated as Pingxi District. Both Wanggu Station and Dahua Station, formerly known as Qinghe Station, were set up in 1972 to serve the coal miners, but they were train-hailing stations before that.
Wunhua Road Wangyangju Historical House
Immediately after exiting Yingge Train Station are a No. of old buildings, most of which have been abandoned. The most well preserved of the old houses of this town is Wangyangju Residence on Wunhua Road. The two-story joint Sino-European style construction is red brick and the main gate and façade remain intact. There are 4 urns and a lightening rod that make this house seem like none other.